Policy Exchange Discussion: Guaranteeing Ukraine’s Long-Run Security

PONARS Logo, event title, and list of speakers

Drawing on PONARS Eurasia's worldwide network of experts, the Policy Exchange series offers interactives discussions that bring a diversity of informed views to tough questions.

For this event, six experts discuss the following forward-looking question that is likely to be central to regional security for the long-term:

Regardless of how the war ends, how can Ukraine’s long-run security realistically be guaranteed?


Petro Burkovskyi is Executive Director of the Democratic Initiatives Foundation (DIF), a leading Ukrainian analytical and sociological think tank. He has supervised DIF analytical activities since October 2017. Before joining DIF Petro Burkovskyi worked for 14 years in the National Institute for Strategic Studies as head of the Center for Advanced Russia Studies (2019-2020), head of Department for Political System Development (2016-2019), deputy head of Analysis and Information Department (2010-2016), chief consultant (2006-2010). He is a cadre civil servant (2005-2018).

Olexiy Haran is a professor of Comparative Politics at the National University of Kyiv Mohyla Academy (UKMA). Since 2002, he has served as Founding Director of the UKMA School for Policy Analysis, and since 2015 as Research Director at the Democratic Initiatives Foundation (DIF). He is the co-editor of Constructing a Political Nation: Changes in the Attitudes of Ukrainians during the War in the Donbas (2017), Ukraine in Europe: Questions and Answers (2009), Russia and Ukraine: Ten Years of Transformation (Moscow 2003) and several other books. Also, he is a frequent commentator in Ukrainian and international media.

Mariya Y. Omelicheva is a Professor of Strategy at National War College. Her research and teaching interests include international and Eurasian security, counterterrorism and human rights, democracy promotion in the post-Soviet territory, Russia's foreign and security policy, gender and security, and crime-terror nexus in Eurasia. She is the author of three books – Webs of Corruption: Trafficking-Terrorism Nexus in Central Asia (Columbia University Press, 2019, with Lawrence Markowitz), Democracy in Central Asia: Competing Perspectives and Alternate Strategies (University Press of Kentucky 2015) and Counterterrorism Policies in Central Asia (Routledge 2011) – and over a hundred of peer-reviewed articles.

Maria Popova is Jean Monnet Chair and Associate Professor of Political Science at McGill University in Montreal. Popova’s work explores the intersection of politics and law in Eastern Europe and Eurasia, specifically the rule of law, judicial reform, political corruption, populist parties, and legal repression of dissent. Popova’s book, Politicized Justice in Emerging Democracies (Cambridge UP, 2012), won the American Association for Ukrainian Studies prize for best book in the fields of Ukrainian history, politics, language, literature and culture. Other work appears in Europe-Asia Studies, Problems of Post-Communism, Journal of East European Law, and Daedalus.

Oxana Shevel's research and teaching focus on the post-Communist region surrounding Russia, and issues such as nation- and state-building, the politics of citizenship and migration, memory and religious politics, and challenges to democratization in the post-Soviet region. She is the author of Migration, Refugee Policy, and State Building in Postcommunist Europe (Cambridge University Press, 2011), which examines how the politics of national identity and strategies of the UNHCR shape refugee admission policies in the post-Communist region, leading countries to be more or less receptive to refugees.

Paul D’Anieri is Professor of Political Science and Public Policy at the University of California - Riverside. He studies politics in the former Soviet Union, focusing on Ukraine and on Ukraine-Russia relations. He also teaches and studies economics and budgeting in universities, based on his experience as an administrator at UCR, the University of Florida, and the University of Kansas.